Let’s do a Lebanese Brunch

The last two weeks I’d been cooped up at home studying and stressing for my last batch of exams. As a result I had missed out on half of the Crave Sydney festivities. At least I was able to join the last day of Let’s Do Brunch.

I imposed the choice of an untraditional breakfast on my friends. Only because the idea of eggs / pancakes / waffles / etc was so uninspiring to me. Apart from take away kebabs, Lebanese foods represent unexplored territory and so the menu at Embers Mezze Bar sparked my interest and curiosity. Sadly although the salty and sour flavourings were acceptable and enjoyable for me, less could be said for my friends who both admitted they preferred traditional Anglo breakfast offerings.

cucumber and salsa; shanklish and tomato salsa; olives
spinach and silverbeet fatayer with lemon dressing
cooked and mashed fava beans

Omelette with labna and dukkah
This was the only dish that was not acceptable to me

Embers Mezze Bar on Urbanspoon

Leave a comment