Work In Progress @patrickfriesen

IMG_4613

When March in Merivale rolled around again, the Mongolian asked which restaurant I wanted to go to. I said none cos I couldn’t be bothered to join the hype and he could do with a diet. So none of the Merivale restaurants were mentioned for most of March.

But then these delectable photos of fried chicken and noodles started clogging up my newsfeed on Instagram and I drooled a little on my phone screen.

So with a girly drinks night coming up I made sure the venue would be WIP.

And of course I tried to keep my escapade a secret from the Mongolian which is easy in a way because he doesn’t have Instagram. But then he found a review on Good Food and was determined to go. My ruse started to unravel from there because I can’t protect him from when he knows already – and what he knows is fried chicken. He ended up going by himself one night and ordered the duck noodles and Pnomh Penh chicken wings. He wasn’t impressed with the noodles because he doesn’t take spicy food too well and as he described it, it was like the noodles was mixed with a bottle of Old Aunty Gan chilli sauce through it.

Fly High - Pnomh Penh Chicken Wings, lime white pepper
Fly High – Pnomh Penh Chicken Wings, lime white pepper. This was my fave of the fried chickens, maybe because it came with a tangy dressing and I love all things sour. But the Mongolian had the balls to call that dressing “just lime juice” and said once he saw the KFC, he knew he would have preferred that over Fly High.

IMG_4539

Half & half ginger fried chicken & chilli fried chicken was like Korean Fried Chicken.

IMG_4535

Curry beef brisket noodle - so much taste!  The soft, fluffy noodles soaked up that tasty, thick curry gravy. This was my favourite dish out of everything I tried at WIP. But when I brought my mother here a week later and I was told it wasn't available that night, I died a little inside.
Curry beef brisket noodle – that curry gravy was just so much taste! Beef! Curry! Wham! And the soft, fluffy noodles soaked up that gravy like heaven. This was my favourite dish out of everything I tried at WIP. Which is why when I brought my mother here a week later and was told it wasn’t available that night, I died a little inside.
Supreme Wonton Noodles - the soup was super unami, the wontons were large filled with pork and prawns and the noodles were nice and bitey.
Supreme Wonton Noodles – the soup was super unami, the wontons were large filled with pork and prawns and the noodles were nice and bitey. Serving size for their noodles is quite small and I feel that even one bowl for one person would not be enough as a meal.
IMG_4538
It’s not a drinks night without drinks – I enjoyed the Rapsaka which has Absolut Elyx, raspberry, passionfruit and apple juice. I think it must be the Asian in me, but I particularly like it when my drink comes in a big, tall glass rather than something small. It makes me feel like I’m getting my value for money

WIP is meant to be a pop up store and close at the end of March, but as far as I know, it’s still open due to public demand. I hope I will be back to try that curry brisket noodle again.
Work in Progress on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

