Khao Pla 2

I had an amazing dinner at Khao Pla last weekend. There was quite a queue when we arrived and we were told the wait would be about 20mins. So we went for a walk about Chatswood. When we returned, our table had been called and they had even called me on my phone , but I didn’t hear. So we waited some more, and used this time to read the newspaper articles pasted on their doors, which helped us decide what to order.

Pra hoy dip - sea scallop sashimi, lemon grass, kaffir lime, mint, chilli and lime juice
Pra hoy dip – sea scallop sashimi, lemon grass, kaffir lime, mint, chilli and lime juice
Fresh scallops in a sweet, sour and extremely spicy dressing. The fried onions also added a salty and crunchy dimension. The Mongolian was really looking forward to this dish, but unfortunately he does not take to spiciness well. He looked like he was suffering as he sweated profusely, panted a bit and had to drink my milk tea to help quell the burn. I liked it though.
Hor mok yang - grilled fish curry wrapped in banana leaf
Hor mok yang – grilled fish curry wrapped in banana leaf
There was a nice balance of flavours here, the fish was smooth and creamy. After the killer spiciness of the scallops, this was a welcome change for the Mongolian.
Lin yang - char grilled ox tongue
Lin yang – char grilled ox tongue
This was not a dish I would have ordered if the Mongolian was not there. I mean ox tongue?? But it was delicious and tender and reminded me of steak. A pleasant surprise. It was complimented by a plum sauce, but I enjoyed it by itself, just seasoned with salt.
Kana moo krob - wok fried crispy pork belly and Chinese broccoli
Kana moo krob – wok fried crispy pork belly and Chinese broccoli
Black sticky rice and jasmine tapioca - with dark sugarcane sauce and Thai milk tea ice cream
Black sticky rice and jasmine tapioca – with dark sugarcane sauce and Thai milk tea ice cream
When I took my first bite into this dessert, my eyes rolled back and I moaned before I could stop myself. I absolutely adore black sticky rice, but the fragrant jasmine tapioca and Thai milk tea ice cream took to greater heights. It was a small dish, and I savoured every bite.

Despite the burning shock of the first scallop dish, the Mongolian was really impressed with Khao Pla, and suggested we come back in winter, we will sit outside and he’ll wear just a t-shirt so that when he orders the Crying Tiger Beef, he won’t sweat as much.

Read about my first visit to Khao Pla here

Try Khao Pla! One of the best eateries in Chatswood. But be prepared to wait for a table as they are quite busy Thursday through to Saturday.

Khao Pla on Urbanspoon

One thought on “Khao Pla 2

Leave a Reply

