Beijing Alley

We had a quick dinner at Beijing Alley last Friday before watching Captain America. At first I was hesitant to eat here, but when the Mongolian pointed out they sell jianbing, I was so excited (this is the first time I’ve had jianbing in Australia) I needed no further convincing.

I’d describe the jianbing as a large thin round crepe with a sweet sauce (like 甜蜜酱) and an optional splash hot sauce, an egg, a sprinkling of spring onions and another of coriander. Then the vendor would add in a fried dough stick or another very crunchy, deeply fried carb and wrap it up like a kebab. Because it is hawker food, it costs about 3RMB. I thought it was breakfast food (and I’ve certainly only had it as breakfast), but the Mongolian told me he use to have it after tutoring school which is about dinner time. Either way, it both warms the soul in the unforgiving Shanghai-ese winter and fills the tummy for a ravishing students who study too much.

Sour plum drink and soy milk. I really liked the soy milk because it wasn't sweetened and tasted like it was freshly made
Sour plum drink and soy milk
I really liked the soy milk because it wasn’t sweetened and tasted like it was freshly made
Pig's ears - ack!! These were spicy (tasted like 老干妈), crunchy and rubbery. I wasn't a great fan because of the texture, but the Mongolian loved it for that same reason. He ate two plates of this and didn't seem fazed by the spiciness.
Pig’s ears – ack!!
These were spicy (tasted like 老干妈), crunchy and rubbery. I wasn’t a great fan because of the texture, but the Mongolian loved it for that same reason. He ate two plates of this and didn’t seem fazed by the spiciness.
Red braised pork belly rice - Lots of meat, slightly salty (especially the egg) and the pork was on the fatty side.
Red braised pork belly rice
Lots of meat, slightly salty (especially the egg) and the pork was on the fatty side.
Jianbing with fried dough stick - feels like it was a very gourmet version because it's served in a plate, not a plastic bag.
Jianbing with fried dough stick
It doesn’t taste exactly like the jianbings I’ve had back in China, something is amiss. But this feels like a very gourmet version because it’s served in a plate, not a plastic bag. Let’s not also forget this costs 26 times more than the ones in China.

IMG_2246

Things are on the expensive side here, but the food is ok. Next time I come, I want to try their zhajiangmian.

Beijing Alley on Urbanspoon

3 thoughts on “Beijing Alley

Leave a Reply

