Hong Kong: Australia Dairy Company

Australia Dairy Company
Australia Dairy Company

Another restaurant, another queue. I’m beginning to see a pattern here.

Despite what the name suggests, Australian Dairy Company is not an Australian company nor do they have any affiliation with an Australian dairy industry. It’s a tea restaurant that’s famous for their double skinned milk custard and scrambled eggs.

Compared to TWH, we arrived relatively early at ADC in time for brunch. Yet we were still greeted with the sorry sight of a long queue which stretched until the end of the block. Luckily, unlike THW, the line moved fast and we were seated within 30 minutes.

Once inside we understood why turnover is so fast. The food comes out at lightening speed, we were served within 1 minute of ordering. Tables are also shared so that every available seat is filled, which meant we had to awkwardly share our table with a random  middle aged man.

Scrambled eggs with toast
Scrambled eggs with toast
The HK local friend who took us to TWH described eggs here to be more tasty than normal scrambled eggs… That’s because it has a spoonful of MSG! Apart from that, they were moist and fluffy and I quite enjoyed it.
French toast
French toast
I didn’t try this, but my friends said it was too sweet and buttery.
Double skin almond milk custard
Double skin almond milk custard
I think of this as a milk jelly. We had this warm, but I tried a cold version at Yee Shun (in Macau) and found it more refreshing and enjoyable.
In Shanghai, I walked passed a cafe advertising rose flavoured milk custard which inspired me to replicate it when I got home. Unfortunately, I added too much sugar and the milk was also going off so my grandpa declared it a major failure.
Double skin egg custard
Double skin egg custard
The same as above, but with the egg yolk. The egg taste was too strong.
Sweetened milk
Sweetened milk
I meant to order a milk tea, but mistakenly ordered this extremely sweet milk.

They also had scrambled egg sandwiches with various other accompaniments, and a curious dish of macaroni in a broth with ham.

Maybe because I did not share in the French toast, I found my meal at ADC very pleasing. Unfortunately, my travel companions found the culmination of all the dairy, in their words, quite sickening.

Get in line to try Australian Dairy Company’s ‘tasty’ scrambled eggs and chilled almond milk custard at 47 Parkes St, Kowloon.

Leave a Reply

