Khao Pla

A new(ish) place to eat at Chatswood!

I’ve been biased against Thai food since I went on a no sugar diet 2 years ago because I found Thai quite sweet. Formed a habit of avoiding Thai since then, which I’m only just recently getting out of. Hence why I’ve shunned this place since it opened, despite it being in such a convenient location for me.

This is a small restaurant, yet has a headchef with credentials not to be belittled. The quality of the food lived up to the standard expected from such a character.

Papaya salad w dried shrimp, Vietnamese pork roll, Thai eggplant, chilli and lime juice
Papaya salad w dried shrimp, Vietnamese pork roll, Thai eggplant, chilli and lime juice.
Plain and classic. I say plain, because the last time my friend and I dined at a Thai restaurant, we I decided to be adventurous and try papaya salad laced with fermented crab. Fermented crab is a real acquired taste, so salty and with a pungent flavour that pervades the dish and masks any other flavour which might be in conflict.
Anyway, I digress. This papaya salad did not have fermented crab. It was good.
Pad Cha Pla - southern style wok fried fish fillet, tumeric, chilli, wild ginger, kaffir
Pad Cha Pla – southern style wok fried fish fillet, tumeric, chilli, wild ginger, kaffir
When we ordered this dish, the waitress gravely shook her head, saying “very spicy” But we decided to take a punt and found it to be not so spicy that I eventually took to eating the chillies.
Honestly, I liked this dish. There was lots of fish and very flavoursome with a variety of distinct herbs, spices and aromatics. It was quite salty and perhaps could have done with a touch of sweetness to balance it out.
Gaeng Panang - red curry with chicken and kaffir lime leaf
Gaeng Panang – red curry with chicken and kaffir lime leaf

Overall I was impressed with this place, and will return to try its other offerings, particularly it’s sticky black rice dessert.

Khao Pla on Urbanspoon

One thought on “Khao Pla

Leave a Reply

