Cicco Chocolaterie

I’m kind of racist when it comes to desserts. I love Asian desserts like red/mung bean soup, black rice congee, rice cake… but the same cannot be said for when Asians do Western desserts. Asians tend to have milder tastes for desserts so Western desserts made the Asian way tend to be immensely toned down. The primate example is that chocolate cake from 85*C – it tasted like a plain cake, with no hint of chocolate.

Why can’t Asians stick to their own desserts? Sure, whenever I bake, I always halve the sugar and use 75% of the fat; sure I find Western desserts done properly the Western way are usually over the top. But when I have Western desserts, I want the whole package complete with overdoses of sugar and fat and other flavours.

OK I know the above was slightly self-contradictory, but it’s complicated, just like a woman.

Hence why I would not have ventured into this cafe had it not been for the voucher in my Entertainment Book giving me a firm shove. Come on! Koreans making chocolate surely does not inspire a whole lot of confidence! But at the end of the day, I have to say, the hot chocolate was not bad at all.

Belgian dark hot chocolate - this was really enjoyable. Kudos to the Koreans handling Western desserts ;)  Maybe it tasted so good because it wasn't as sweet and heavy as say Lindt or Max Brenner
Belgian dark hot chocolate – this was really enjoyable. Kudos to the Koreans handling Western desserts 😉 Maybe it tasted so good because it wasn’t as sweet and heavy as say Lindt or Max Brenner
Chicken risotto - this was quite yummy
Chicken risotto – this was quite yummy
Caesar salad (dressing on side) my major complaint was the salad leaves didn't look fresh and probably unwashed
Caesar salad (dressing on side) my major complaint was the salad leaves didn’t look fresh and probably unwashed

Cicco Chocolaterie @ Chatswood Chase

Leave a Reply

